Far From Home

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Kathy lynn 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
     Avani Reddy 
    Participant

My eyes slowly open and come to focus as I first hear the sound of soft, muffled banging. I see the taxi driver is knocking on the glass between us and I take out my earphones, cutting off Supertramp abruptly. He lets me know that “we’re here” and I take a quick glance outside, getting my confirmation as I spot the “M&R Corporation” signage accompanying the lavish building before me, the sun at high-noon glaring against the glass. I give a quick nod and smile to the driver as I pass him $20 for the fare, and telling him to “keep the change” for the smooth ride and for letting me get some shut-eye. Stepping out of the cab and grabbing my backpack, I take a moment to admire the view in front of me, still surprised that I’m actually here.

It’s been about a year since I graduated from university and some big things have happened since then: my girlfriend of four years moved back to America after studying with me in Scotland, I spent some months unemployed as I desperately tried to get myself a job (first in my ideal field of TV production, then just anything after a while). Half a year of unemployment later, my girlfriend brought up the subject of me moving to the States to be with her and, given how jobless I was at the time, I agreed. We spent some time scouting out jobs for me, carrying out interviews over Skype. Eventually I was able to land an office job near where she lived (I didn’t plan on it being a permanent job, just something to give me an employment status over there while I looked for better work).